SCONUL Library Design Awards and Showcase 2016

This event is in the past, presentations and the announcement of the winner are available to view here.

This event will celebrate our award-winning libraries and provide those interested in academic library design with an opportunity to hear the latest developments in library design; to explore what has made the award winning libraries so successful; and to discover the latest products and services available from suppliers in a Design Showcase.  It will be particularly helpful for Library Directors and their senior teams involved in, or considering new build or renovation projects for their libraries.

Start & End Date : 
Thursday, December 1, 2016

Museum of London
150 London Wall

9.30hrs - 16.20hrs
020 7387 0317

This event will be open to SCONUL members and invited persons only. If you are a non-member and wish to attend please get in touch with the SCONUL office.


Registration has now closed.  If you are interested in attending please e-mail





Registration, coffee and design showcase


Welcome from Mark Toole, Chair of SCONUL and Liz Waller, Chair of the SCONUL Library Design Awards Panel


Keynote address: The future of learning environments

Alexi Marmot, Professor of Facility and Environment Management, UCL Bartlett Faculty of the Built Environment   


Presentations from the shortlisted libraries under 2,000 square meters

  • Heritage Quay, University of Huddersfield
    Sue White, Director of Computing and Library and Sarah Wickham, University Archivist & Records Manager, Heritage Quay, University of Huddersfield
  • Teesside University Library, Teesside University
    Liz Jolly, Director of Library and Information Services and Denise Turner, Assistant Director (Learning and Research Support), Library and Information Services, Teesside University
  • Cruciform Hub, University College London
    Dr Paul Ayris, Director of Library Services, University College London


Announcement of winner


Lunch, design award showcase and sponsors


Keynote address: Collaborating for the student experience

Roger FitzGerald, Chairman, ADP Architecture and Jon Roylance, Higher Education Sector Lead, ADP Architecture


Coffee break and design showcase


Presentations from the shortlisted libraries over 2,000 square meters

  • Brynmor Jones Library, University of Hull
    Michelle Anderson, University Librarian and Chris Awre, Head of Information Services, University of Hull
  • Maynooth University Library
    Cathal McCauley, University Librarian, Maynooth University and St.John Handley, Director, Scott Tallon Walker
  • Wellcome Library and the Reading Room
    Dr Simon Chaplin, Director of Culture & Society, Wellcome, Gaby Code, Associate, Wilkinson Eyre Architects, Geoff Shearcroft, Director, AOC Architecture, Chris Bunker, Construction Director, Wellcome Trust and Zina Sabovic, Head of Collection Management, Wellcome Library
  • The Hive, University of Worcester
    Judith Keene, University Librarian, Laura Worsfold, Hive Business Development Manager and Janine Downes, Library Services Manager, The Hive, University of Worcester


Announcement of winner


Closing remarks Mark Toole, Chair of SCONUL


Close and departure