EFQM Excellence Model

EFQM Excellence Model

The EFQM Excellence Model, a non-prescriptive framework based on nine criteria, can be used to assess an organisation’s process towards excellence. Organisations can use the model and the process of self-assessment to improve performance. It is flexible and can be applied to organisations of any size, in the public and private sector.

Regardless of sector, size, structure or maturity, to be successful, organisations need to establish an appropriate management framework.

The EFQM Excellence Model is a practical tool that can be used in a number of different ways:

  • As a tool for self-assessment
  • As a way to benchmark with other organisations
  • As a guide to identify areas for improvement
  • As the basis for a common vocabulary and a way of thinking
  • As a structure for the organisation's management system

The EFQM Excellence Model is a non-prescriptive framework based on nine criteria. Five of these are 'Enablers' and four are 'Results'. The 'Enabler' criteria cover what an organisation does. The 'Results' criteria cover what an organisation achieves. 'Results' are caused by 'Enablers' and 'Enablers' are improved using feedback from 'Results'.


  • Leadership
  • Policy and Strategy
  • People
  • Partnership and Resources
  • Processes


  • Customer Results
  • People Results
  • Society Results
  • Key Performance Results

The model, which recognises that there are many approaches to achieving sustainable excellence in all aspects of performance, is based on the premise that:

Excellent results with respect to performance, customers, people and society are achieved through leadership driving policy and strategy, that is delivered through people, partnerships and resources, and processes.

Text adapted from http://www.efqm.org/