Library Design Award - previous winners

2016 SCONUL Library Design Award Winners

Development over 2000 sqm

Development under 2000 sqm

 Library Design Awards 2016 Presentation to The Hive, University of Worcester 

The Hive, University of Worcester

Library Design Award 2016 Heritage Quay, University of Huddersfield 

Heritage Quay, University of Huddersfield

The Library Design Award was held in December 2016 at the Museum of London to celebrate the winners. The presentations can be found here.

Read the judges' citations of the shortlisted libraries.

View a selection of photos from the shortlisted libraries.


2013 SCONUL Library Design Awards

Development over 2000 sqm 

Development under 2000 sqm

Joint winners: 

The McClay Library, Queen’s University Belfast

Augustine House Library and Student Services Centre, Canterbury Christ Church University

Highly Commended: The Forum, University of Exeter

Winner: The Ayr Campus Library, University of the West of Scotland and Scotland’s Rural College

Highly Commended: Dame Elizabeth Esteve-Coll Learning Resource Centre, Kingston University

The full press release can be found here with citations from the libraries in the background note.  A photo album of the libraries can be found here.

The Library Design Award was held in February 2014 to celebrate the winners. Presentations can be found here.


2010 SCONUL Library Design Awards

Development over 3000 sqm

Winner: The David Wilson Library, Leicester University

Development under 3000 sqm

Winner: Trevithick Library, Cardiff University

More information about the 2010 winners can be found here

Three libraries were highly commended:

New Postgraduate Research Library, University College Cork
The Drill Hall Library, Universities at Medway
The Information Commons, University of Sheffield


2007 SCONUL Library Design Awards

Development over 3000 sqm

Winner: Universty of Bournemouth
Highly Commended: Glasgow Caledonian University and Open University

Development under 3000 sqm

Winner: Girton College, Cambridge
Highly Commended: University College London, SSEES Library and University of Warwick Learning Grid



Earlier awards

1996-2000: SCONUL Library Design Award 2002
Frederick Lanchester Library, Coventry University
John and Aileen O'Reilly Library, Dublin City University
Adsetts Centre, Sheffield Hallam University
Hatfield Campus LRC, University of Hertfordshire
1990-1995: Aytoun Library, Manchester Metropolitan University
(and Two ‘highly commended’ St George's Library, University of Sheffield
and Brotherton West Library, University of Leeds)
1986-1989: SCONUL Library Design Award 1992
Queen Mary and Westfield College Library, University of London
The National Library of Scotland, Causewayside Building (Phase 1)
The Joule Library, University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology
1982-1985: Durham University Library,
Robinson Library, University of Newcastle
St. Patrick’s College Library, Maynooth
1977-1981: No awards made
1975-1976: Hugh Owen Library, University College of Wales, Aberystwyth
University College Cardiff Library
Arts and Social Sciences Library, University of Bristol
1973-1974: Arts Library, Nottingham University
1971-1972: British Library Document Supply Centre, Boston Spa (main building)