Library Design Awards 2016

Announcement of Winners

The SCONUL Library Design Awards took place on 1 December at the Museum of London. The awards have been made every three years since 1973 and recognise the best in the design of higher education libraries

The winner in the under 2,000 square meters category was Heritage Quay, University of Huddersfield.  The winner in the over 2,000 square meters category was The Hive, University of Worcester.

The event was an opportunity to celebrate the achievements of both the winners and the shortlisted libraries, and presentations from all of the institutions are available below.

Agenda and Presentations

Keynote address: The future of learning environments (presentation available on request)
Alexi Marmot, Professor of Facility and Environment Management, UCL Institute of Environmental Design and Engineering

Presentations from the shortlisted libraries under 2,000 square meters

Heritage Quay, University of Huddersfield - Winning Library
Sue White, Director of Computing and Library and 
Sarah Wickham, University Archivist and Records Manager, Heritage Quay, University of Huddersfield

University College London, Cruciform Hub
Dr Paul Ayris, Director of Library Services, University College London

Teesside University Library
Liz Jolly, Director of Library and Information Services and
Denise Turner, Assistant Director (Learning and Research Support), Library and Information Services, Teesside University

Keynote address: Collaborating for the student experience (available on request)
Roger FitzGerald, Chairman, ADP Architecture and
Jon Roylance, Higher Education Sector Lead, ADP Architecture

Presentations from the shortlisted libraries over 2,000 square meters

Brynmor Jones Library, University of Hull
Michelle Anderson, University Librarian and
Chris Awre, Head of Information Services, University of Hull

John Paul II Library, Maynooth University
(Click here for the video that formed part of the presentation)
Cathal McCauley, University Librarian, Maynooth University and
St.John Handley, Director, Scott Tallon Walker

Wellcome Library and Reading Room
Dr Simon Chaplin, Director of Culture & Society, Wellcome
Gaby Code, Associate, Wilkinson Eyre Architects
Geoff Shearcroft, Director, AOC Architecture
Chris Bunker, Construction Director, Wellcome Trust and
Zina Sabovic, Head of Collection Management

The Hive, University of Worcester - Winning Library
Judith Keene, University Librarian
Laura Worsfold, Hive Business Development Manager
Janine Downes, Library Services Manager, The Hive, University of Worcester